Almost every country in Central Asia has its own language; Kazakhstan - Kazakh, Kyrgyzstan - Kyrgyz, Tajikistan - Tajik, Turkmenistan - Turkmen and Uzbekistan - Uzbek. Furthermore, since they all were the part of Soviet Union, Russian language is considered lingua franca within the region.


However, Pashto and Dari are the official languages in Afghanistan and Uyghur language is the most common language in East Turkestan (Xinjiang, China).


The table below shows the classification of the languages in the region.